Barbican dates just announced

Max performs two special shows exploring ambient music through the orchestra, including pieces never performed before in the UK.

Exploring the idea of the orchestra as a medium for ambient music, rather than electronic instruments, Max has selected pieces that create space to reflect on ideas and feelings. It’s this intersection between the music and the listeners’ biographies that Max is interested in – the way a musical performance becomes conversational. 

The repertoire features six pieces of live music, three being UK premieres – Exiles, Opus 2020, and Testament. Max Richter will be joined by a specially expanded line-up of 12 Ensemble – who’ve previously performed with him at 2018’s Sounds and Visions weekend, alongside Soprano Grace Davidson.


Testament (UK premiere) 

The Waves

‘Dream 19’ from SLEEP


Opus 2020 (UK premiere)


Exiles (UK Premiere)

Tickets go on general sale 10am Friday 22nd July, get your tickets here.